Users & Groups

You must have a Skylight "Admin" role in order to manage users and groups.

Managing Users

Administrators can manage users by adding and removing users, setting a user's group membership, or setting their role.

Adding a User

To add a user:

  1. Open the Users page under the User Management tab.

  2. Select the New User button in the bottom right.

  3. Enter information in the New user dialog:

    • Photo (optional)

    • Username

    • Account type

    • First name (optional)

    • Last name (optional)

    • Job title (optional)

    • Email (optional for Users and Managers)

    • Office phone (optional)

    • Mobile phone (optional)

    • Location (optional)

    • Language (optional) - This is the language that will be utilized in Skylight on devices. This overrides the default language specified for the domain.

  4. Select SAVE.

Editing a User

To edit a user:

  1. Open the Users page under the User Management tab.

  2. Select a user.

  3. Make updates in the User details sidebar.

  4. Select SAVE to save the updated user details.

Updating a User's Group Membership

To edit the group membership for a user:

  1. Open the Users page under the User Management tab.

  2. Select a user.

  3. In the User details sidebar, open the Group membership dropdown.

  4. In the dropdown, search by group name and select each group that the user should be a member of.

  5. Click anywhere outside of the dropdown to close it.

  6. Select SAVE to save the user's group membership.

Deleting a User

To delete a user:

  1. Open the Users page under the User Management tab.

  2. Select one or more users to delete.

  3. Select the delete icon in the bottom right.

  4. Select DELETE USER(S) in the confirmation modal.

Reset the Password for a User

To reset the password for a user:

  1. Open the Users page under the User Management tab.

  2. Select a user.

  3. In the User details sidebar, select RESET PASSWORD. This will disable the user's current password and generate a new one.

  4. Copy and share the new password with the user.

Managing Groups

Skylight users can be organized into groups to make it easier to manage multiple users and apply common roles and permissions.

Administrators can manage groups by adding groups, removing groups, or modifying group members.

Adding a Group

To add a new group:

  1. Open the Groups page under the User Management tab.

  2. Select the Add Group button in the bottom right.

  3. In the Group details sidebar, enter a Group name and description (optional).

  4. In the Members tab, select New user and type the name of each user you want to add. Press the enter key to add them to the group.

  5. Select SAVE to create the group.

Editing Group Membership

To edit the members of a group:

  1. Open the Groups page under the User Management tab.

  2. Select a group.

  3. In the Group details pane, click the MEMBERS tab.

  4. To add users, select New user and type the name of each user you want to add. Press the enter key to add them to the group.

  5. To remove users, find the user in the list and select the remove icon (X).

  6. Select SAVE to update the group.

Deleting a Group

To delete a group:

  1. Open the Groups page under the User Management tab.

  2. Select one or more groups to delete.

  3. Select the delete icon in the bottom right.

  4. Select DELETE GROUP(S) in the confirmation modal.